Friday, December 08, 2006

The End of an Era

December 8, 1991 - The USSR (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics) ceased to exist, as the leaders of Russia, Byelorussia and the Ukraine signed an agreement creating the Commonwealth of Independent States. The remaining republics, with the exception of Georgia, joined the new Commonwealth.

Tolstoy and Gorky (historical postcard)

No comments: